A New Eilu Devarim

This new version of the Eilu Devarim (lit., “These are the things,” which is also sometimes referred to as the “Rabbinic Ten Commandments”), recited before daily prayer, recognizes that it may be difficult for those coming from abusive households to honor their parents. Other changes have been made as well in this contemporary rendering of the prayer.

These are the obligations that enhance our world,
Honoring compassionate friendship,
performing acts of compassion and justice,
recognizing the need for education during any point in life,
welcoming the stranger,
showing equality to all people no matter where they are on the journey called life,
mourning and celebrating a life passed on,
turning life into a prayer,
creating peace out of moments of chaos,
Rejoicing in Torah because it encompasses them all!

Ritualwell content is available for free thanks to the generous support of readers like you! Please help us continue to offer meaningful content with a donation today. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Rituals

Shop Ritualwell - Discover unique Judaica products

The Reconstructionist Network

Learning to Say "We": Writing Identity

In this immersion, we will reflect and expand on our personal experiences of identity, using writing exercises and in-depth discussions to think about, challenge, discover, explore, and experiment with different ways to identify ourselves, to consider how those ways connect us to and separate us from others, and how they represent and misrepresent aspects of who we are.

Four sessions, starting June 15th

Get the latest from Ritualwell

Subscribe for the latest rituals, online learning opportunities, and unique Judaica finds from our store.